Gallery

Triple chocolate cupcakes.

© Jule Helmke

I saw this amazing cupcake frosting on Blueskydaze’s blog  that I just had to try it out at the next occasion. And who would have thought, this occasion was this past weekend. When I looked for a basic chocolate cupcake recipe in my cupcake baking book I even found the recipe for this frosting! So I had this recipe in my very own apartment the whole time… Well well, now I know and now you know too. Here we go :)

Ingrediens:

125 g butter

150 g sugar

1 package vanilla sugar

2 eggs

2 tsp cacao powder

150 g flour

1 tsp baking powder

salt

100 g sour cream

Frosting:

100g dark chocolate

200 g soft butter

200 g powdered sugar

  1. Preheat the oven to 175 °C.  Arrange the cupcake forms on a baking plate. Melt the butter with the sugar and vanilla sugar in a small pan on low heat and let it cool down. Put it in a mixing bowl and blend it until it’s creamy. Add the eggs one at a time. Mix the cacao powder with 2 tsp hot water and add it to the butter-egg-mixture. Add flour, baking powder and salt in turns with the sour cream to the butter-egg-mixture.
  2. Divide the dough in the forms and bake them in the middle of the oven for 20 minutes. Let them cool down.
  3. Melt the chocolate in a water bath for the frosting and let it cool down. Beat the butter until it’s creamy, add the chocolate and sift the powdered sugar and mix to a fluffy texture. Put the frosting in a bag, cut out a hole and decorate the cupcakes.

© Jule Helmke

 

Other posts:

Put a tiger in your oven.

I’m bored. Let’s bake.

3 thoughts on “Triple chocolate cupcakes.

Leave a comment